What camera do I need?

Tim Wells
3 min readJul 5, 2022

Many of us have been asked, or perhaps been the ones asking questions like “What camera do I need to take photos of some subject matter?”

Photo by Math on Unsplash

It a question that some might find frustrating, similar to that age old statement of “Wow, you have a big camera, it must take really nice photos.” Others won’t hesitate to recommend a certain model or brand with a whole lot of terms that person may or may not understand.

Almost always my own response is something like “Well, what camera do you have?”

To which invariably they will reply with something like, “Well I have my iPhone.”

“Great”

I will say.

“Use that.”

I know, I know. I can feel some people shaking their heads in disappointment, but for the most part it’s the simplest solution for both them, and more importantly, for me. For them it means there is no need to go buy something expensive that will spend most of it’s time in a bag in a cupboard. For me, it means they aren’t going to expect me to donate all my spare time teaching them to use some new camera they purchased because I recommended it.

Let’s be honest. For many people, they are going to be happier if the answer is that they can do it using the camera they have. For many subjects, the camera isn’t really going to make…

--

--