To shoot film again

Tim Wells
2 min readOct 28, 2022

So, this week, in between the usual everyday stuff, I’ve spent a bit of time cleaning up my old Pentax 35mm film camera and tracked down some film to put in it. All with the aim to go out this weekend to a local forest area and spend some time looking around for some interesting shots to capture on film.

Photo by Noah Silliman on Unsplash

It’s got to have been over 25 years, probably longer since I’ve used a film camera to take a photo. When I was first learning about photography I learnt using film, but it wasn’t long till I made the transition to digital (as did most) and didn’t look back. I still like to think I learned a lot about photography and light and all that from my time with film…

but could I use film these days?

My aim is to find out.

A couple of portraits I took on film and scanned years ago from a small print using an old old scanner.

These days I photograph as a hobby more than anything else and I don’t do many portraits, mostly landscape and nature stuff. So that’s what I’ll probably be focusing on with this film experiment too.

I’ve chatted to another photographer from New Zealand who is big into film photography still and he’s given me some suggestions and tips. He’s also said that doing this will make me want to shoot with film more often.

I have my doubts.

We’ll see what happens. It’ll probably be a little while after I go out on this film shooting experiment because I’ll be posting the film away to be developed, but I will post an update when I get the results and share my thoughts on what it’s like shooting film again in this digital age.

--

--