Love of thunder

Tim Wells
4 min readAug 2, 2022

I don’t know about you, but I’ve always loved a good thunderstorm. Well, for my adult life anyway. I’m not sure I can recall one way or another how I felt about them as a child. Something about the sheer power on display during a thunderstorm is fascinating to me.

I’m not saying I’m about to take up storm chasing, although, I’m not not saying that either. I tend to appreciate a good storm from a place of relative safety. I can’t count the times I’ve sat out the back of my house and watched as a thunderstorm rolled past in the distance or how many times we’ve been smack in the middle of the swirling vortex of chaos.

Picking up a camera and heading outside isn’t something one normally thinks of doing perhaps as a storm approaches, but for me, it seems like the best thing to do. I’ve been going back over some photos I’ve taken in past of storms and thought I’d share some of those here.

Running from the storm.

I was on the Sunshine Coast in Queensland Australia one day, at the beach waiting for this storm that had been building offshore to see if I could catch some lightning or something interesting. I was sitting well up from the water, both for safety reasons and so I could make a quick getaway if I needed to. I’d setup the camera and was experimenting with some different exposures when I saw these surfers running up the sand toward the carpark behind me.

--

--