Did I get COVID?

Tim Wells
2 min readJan 17, 2022

I’ve been silent on the subject of COVID-19 and it’s not something I really want to get into now either. However, this past week I’ve been sick, really sick. Sicker than I’ve been in a long time. I had high temperatures with fever, coughing, coughing and more coughing and in general feeling like death warmed up.

I had all the symptoms of COVID, which are also essentially all the symptoms of having the FLU. I mean, it’s running rampant here at the moment so it must be COVID right?

It was the fifth day of symptoms before I felt physically capable of going out and getting a test done. The rapid tests are nowhere to be found and testing clinics all make you wait in a long lineup outdoors in the sun in the middle of summer while (presumably) feeling sick with symptoms of COVID. It’s not very well thought out really, but I digress. I waited and was tested and went home feeling exhausted.

It took almost five days before the test result came back…. NEGATIVE.

I mean, that’s good right? Right?

If it’s negative, then why was I so sick? What was it that I had? My wife also had symptoms and was also tested and it, like mine, was also negative.

I mean, it didn’t make sense for it to be COVID. I hadn’t been anywhere for weeks prior. I work from home and shopping was done online and delivered. Unless somehow it snuck in with the deliveries?

Long and short this past week has been hell. My wife and I both got awfully sick at the same time, hours apart. We’re both still coughing eleven days later though feeling a little less like death overall. Hopefully the worst of whatever this was is done and we can get back to normal.

COVID or something else. Either way, I wouldn’t wish it on anybody.

--

--